State House Approves Easton Redistricting

Plan moves Easton out of the 15th Congressional district after 40 years.

The Pennsylvania House of Representatives has approved legislation that moves Easton and other Northampton County communities out of the 15th Congressional district.

The Morning Call reports that the House passed the new map Tuesday, moving Easton into the 17th district, represented by Congressman Tim Holden. The Senate approved the new districts last week.

The poll found that most of you were against this plan, which splits the Lehigh Valley into separate Congressional districts for the first time in 40 years. 

In addition to Easton, the Express-Times says Forks, Palmer, Bethlehem, Upper and Lower Mount Bethel and Washington Township would be moved into the 17th district, as well as the boroughs of Wilson, West Easton, Glendon, Nazareth, Stockertown, Tatamy, Bangor, East Bangor, Freemansburg, Pen Argyl, Portland, and Roseto.

Parts of the city of Bethlehem, as well as Plainfield and Upper Nazareth townships, would also join the 17th district.

Greg Addison December 21, 2011 at 01:27 PM
Why would they do this? Gerrymandering?
An interested bystander December 21, 2011 at 03:05 PM
Travesty. And I'm a Republican (for now). Independent is looking better and better.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »